Pregnant Writer

Books for Boys

Posted on: February 24, 2010

I have a standard set of books I give to all of my friends who have a little girl baby. They are some of my childhood favorites.

  • The Secret Garden
  • Ramona the Pest
  • Charlotte’s Web
  • Anne of Green Gables
  • Little House on the Prairie

Mr. Pregnant Writer and I found out that we are having a boy, and I am struggling to think about what books to buy him to begin his book collection. (I fear that my favorite books might be too girly.) I’d love some suggestions of books your boys loved, books you loved when you were a young boy, or books you loved when you were a young girl that show true genderless appeal.

Thanks in advance!

4 Responses to "Books for Boys"

You might try
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing or Superfudge by Judy Blume
The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
The Narnia Chronicles by CS Lewis
The Bruno and Boots series by Gordon Korman (absolutely hysterical; the first one was written as a 7th grade writing project) A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
The Harry Potters
The Witches or James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl

Most of these feature boys as the main character.

If you’re willing to go out on a limb, The Hero and the Crown and The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley are both fantastic, but the main character is a girl. I also loved the Alanna books by Tamora Pierce about a girl who pretends to be a boy so she can become a knight.

In case you couldn’t tell, when I was a kid my tastes ran heavily to fantasy/sci-fi, lol. Those are the ones that come to mind immediately.

Of course, if I’m giving a baby gift, I tend to give a copy of Good Night Moon (hardback of course, not board book) or The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. Or maybe Where the Wild Things Are…

Awesome suggestions, Katie!

The nice thing is that I still have a lot of books from when I was a kid. I kept my faves in case I ever had a kid. I will probably have to swap out the Nancy Drew for some Hardy Boys, though. πŸ™‚

The entire Fudge trilogy, the Narnia series, and A Wrinkle in Time are there already. I also have a cool sequel to Harriet the Spy about her male friend. And some Encyclopedia Brown books.

I haven’t heard of the Bruno and Boots series, so I’ll have to give that one a look.

You’re lucky your books survived your childhood. I was such an avid reader that the library couldn’t keep up with me. πŸ™‚ I literally read my books to pieces because I read and re-read them so many times. After I wore out the Narnia Chronicles for the third time, my parents finally broke down and bought the hard back set I still have today; the same is true with the Wrinkle in Time books.

It occurs to me that a good place for you to start might be the Newberry Medal list. After looking at it, I was kind of surprised by how many of my childhood favorites were on it.

I also need to make a shout out to The Pushcart War. I love the idea of bringing down big companies with split peas and hat pins. πŸ™‚ Also The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper and The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander.

I’m sorry, I’m monopolizing your post. Sometimes when I get started on a train of thought, it’s a little hard to stop…

I also forgot my horse book stage. The Black Stallion was my favorite series; my best friend Meredith was equally obsessed with the Marguerite Henry books.

I’m stopping now. I promise.

Leave a Reply

