Pregnant Writer

My Boy’s Library

Posted on: March 5, 2010

Katie and I apparently read many of the same books as children, so she reminded me of quite a few that (I think) I still own, such as a few Black Stallion books, the Fudge series, the Chronicles of Prydain, the Narnia series.

I also found out that Beverly Cleary wrote some books about Henry Huggins, a character in the Ramona Quimby books that I so loved. Those should be good and contain the ever-important male protagonist. I also learned that Cleary’s books take place in Portland, Oregon. I don’t know how I missed that as a young girl, so they will have that added element of personal interest.

Finally, I had a brainstorm and remembered Clarence the TV Dog. I loved that book ans its sequel, and I will need to find a used copy to add to the library. Some Clifford the Big Red Dog books will be fun for when the boy is little because our dogs are both over 100 pounds and will tower over the little one just like Clifford does in the books.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress as I plow through my collection to see what I really have and what I just think I have. Until then, please feel free to shoot me more recommendations. A child can never have too many books!

Leave a Reply

