Pregnant Writer

The Wrath of the Pregnant Woman

Posted on: May 13, 2010

I was watching the season 3 premiere of Supernatural the other day in syndication. Those of you who are familiar with the show may remember it as the episode with the personifications of the seven deadly sins.

A few years back, this episode sparked a group of my friends to dress up as the seven deadly sins for Halloween. I was Pride. These days, however, I would be Wrath.

There is an episode of Friends in which Phoebe, pregnant with her brother’s baby, lashes out at her friends and cries with little provocation. When asked how her mood swings are going, she replies, “I haven’t really had any.”

I know intellectually that I am being visited by Wrath on a daily basis, and the things that make me mad really don’t matter. But, my emotions are out of control when the last person to finish eating doesn’t put away the dinner leftovers or my husband buys yet another T-shirt, even though the T-shirts he already owns don’t fit in the allotted space in our closet. And don’t get me started on the fact that he takes his socks off inside out and doesn’t turn them the right way before putting them in the laundry. Or that he will put his jeans or shorts in the hamper with the belt still on.

Typically, these personal affronts are met with a little grumbling, then I go about my business.

Now that I am pregnant (and firmly ensconced in the third trimester), these are Capital Offenses of the Highest Order. I long for the days when I have some perspective on what matters and what doesn’t. Until then, I will do my kick counts, eschew alcohol and more than 200 mg of caffeine each day, and try to keep the laundry door closed so no one else hears my mini-meltdowns.

Leave a Reply

